UFO Hunting

Crochet Granny Square Pillow

I’ll admit it. I have some really bad crochet habits. And one of the worst is the many many UFOs (UnFinished Objects) that litter the shelves of my crochet room. Today, though, a friend’s post inspired me to take another look at them and see if they could be re-purposed. She’d turned an afghan she’d started into a pillow cover and it looked amazing! I knew just the UFO for this nifty crochet hack.

Over two years ago I’d intended to make a giant never-ending granny square afghan. Alas, when I began this monumental task, what I didn’t realize was that I hate making the granny pattern. So I only got 30+ rounds in before it was discarded in the corner out of boredom. Since then it’s been shuffled around quite a bit – from shelf to shelf, my cedar chest, a bag of mismatched UFOs – ever patient, ever waiting for its time to come.

Today was its day.

I was incredibly lucky. My half-done afghan was the perfect size for this crochet hack. A 45 degree turn. Fold the corners to the middle. A few seams. Some buttons. And, voila! An attractive pillow cover in about twenty minutes.

Back of Granny Square Pillow
Mismatched buttons for the back.

Now… time to go tackle a stack of mismatched afghan squares.

Leave a comment